New CPR protocols

CodeSurfer

Forum Captain
I was at my fire department tonight for a CPR refresher course. I have had the new CPR before, sometime in November 2006, but came upon a discepency tonight. The instructor said that we are no longer to check for a pulse before beginning CPR or at anytime during CPR or AED use. I have been an EMT for 2 years and there is no way that I can feel comfortable doing CPR without making sure there is no pulse, let alone attatching an AED! So I said "surely you can check a pulse if you are an EMT and feel more comfortable doing so", and they told me that I cant!!!!! The instructor even said that I could be sued and lose my license for checking pulse because that delays care to the patient. I can understand that bystanders can make mistakes and take a long time looking for a pulse therefore it may be more suitable to bypass that step in their case, but as a medical professional? I cannot feel comfortable going up to an unconscious patient, shaking them, doing a sternal rub or trap pinch and when they dont respond doing CPR... it's just not right!

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
You can tell the instructor from me that they are F.O.S. (if they don't what that means, then have them look it up) There is no way of anyone going to get sued for checking a pulse!.. For one thing monitors cannot detect pulse only electrical activity..

Do what it takes to get per say re-cert but checking a pulse will not get you sued and actually may reduce your chance of litigation.

Your instructor of course is teaching according to standards, but to make an asinine statement like that is ridiculous and displays their ignorance. Obviously, this person just demonstrated they have no real life experience or common sense.

R/r 911

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader