Motion sickness anyone?

FutureFlightMedic

Forum Lieutenant
Yesterday I was riding along with my FD and we got a call for an MVA. It was a long way up a very windy road. (Ended up that the pt was out of our jurisdiction and we were called to return to quarters) I rode in the jump seat facing the back doors of the medic, and got that old "funny" feeling that I know so well from being a young kid riding around in the backseat looking at TIMBER. (my dad is a logger). I don't get the typical vomit type of car sick, instead, I just get that queasy, headachy, I-need-to-lie-flat feeling. Anybody else have this problem? Does it go away? Can I train myself to overcome it? I have, in the past, taken meclazine before a long day of observer ride alongs, and that helps tremendously. But now, as an EMT, I'm not sure I could do something like that, since it states on the label "may cause drowsiness". And, it has made me drowsy before, kind of like a dramamine, but less powerful. Any ideas would sure be appreciated...I should find out any day if I have been accepted into medic school, and I don't want this to ruin my carreer! Thanks again for any help!!

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
We have several members in our department that get this, from the queasy to the projectile vomiters. We have one ambulance that this doesn't happen in though. Coincidentally enough, this is our only ambulance that has a passenger side window in the box area. Is it related? I don't know.

Tincanfireman

Airfield Operations