Key to online job apps?

goodgrief

Forum Lieutenant
So I live North of Atlanta. And I have been looking for work for a couple of months with no luck. What am I missing? Is there a key to online job apps? I apply week after week, with no call backs. I have even considered applying for my license in TENN and making the hour drive north to find work.

The one company I really want to work for told me they dont hire straight out of school.

I have plenty of customer service experience.
Any suggestions on things I should do with online apps? I thought about posting my resume here so yall can tell me if im missing something.

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
Some places might appreciate the initiative taken if you follow up with a phone call.

usafmedic45

Forum Deputy Chief
Some places might appreciate the initiative taken if you follow up with a phone call.

+1 to that. Back when I was a supervisor, if someone just kept submitting application after application and never bothered to stop in or call, each successive application would simply wind up filed as "do not call" faster than the one before it. For dime a dozen positions like basic EMT and paramedic, if you're not talking directly to the person doing the hiring, you're simply a number to them and it's very easy to get annoyed if the same number keeps showing up. Think how you feel when the same telemarketer calls you several times during dinner....

I thought about posting my resume here so yall can tell me if im missing something.

I would strongly recommend against doing that.

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
G

goodgrief

Forum Lieutenant
I would strongly recommend against doing that.

lol minus any personal information.

Someone was telling me that with online apps it goes through a computer based program that picks and chooses what apps the hiring person sees. And if your resume/app doesnt have the "key" words the computer is looking for then the hiring person doesnt even see your app

MusicMedic