Job tips/Advice

Lucid21

Forum Ride Along
Hey all I'm a fresh EMT-B and I've been with a volunteer rescue company for just about two years now.

I'm applying to be a ER Tech/patient Care Technician at a few of my local hospitals. I just had a few questions:

• Should I attach a Cover Letter & Resume for the job? (I've had only one job, and that was a food serving job)
  • What should I wear to an interview? (Would Station clothing be appropriate; polo, EMS pants.)
  • Will having limited experience hurt my chances? (I just got my EMT-B card in the mail today, but I have been riding the ambulance as a third for the past two years; I have AHA BLS CPR Cert.)

Just a few questions for now, I'm just a little nervous at this point because I'm needing a job badly. I'm also at a local community college for Nursing, but not yet in the program. Thanks for everyone's help!

firetender

Community Leader Emeritus
There are a few excellent threads here on this. Fo a search, and Good Fortune!

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Apply for a job in EMS is just like applying for a professional job anywhere else.

Always have a resume with your application, even if you have no prior work experience.

When at the interview, same rules apply. Typically either dress 1 level above the job you're applying for, or suit up. I suggest suiting up.

Shake their hand, look them in the eye, do a call back, do a thank you letter, etc etc.

MusicMedic

Forum Captain
Apply for a job in EMS is just like applying for a professional job anywhere else.

Always have a resume with your application, even if you have no prior work experience.

When at the interview, same rules apply. Typically either dress 1 level above the job you're applying for, or suit up. I suggest suiting up.

Shake their hand, look them in the eye, do a call back, do a thank you letter, etc etc.

All very good points

id say if you dont have a suit AT LEAST dress up in a white collared shirt with a nice and and nice slacks