Intubation Experiance

mikie

Forum Lurker
When you first started intubation (which maybe a LONG time ago from some of you geezers :) ) , field/clinical/OR, wherever; were you successful, unsuccessful? Found it easy, difficult? At what point in time did it take you to "think" you were competent in ETI?

Obviously every patient has different airway anatomies and circumstances surrounding the reason for intubation, I'm just looking for some general impressions, per se.

thanks!

MSDeltaFlt

RRT/NRP
Intubations are like IV's. It is a skill that is easy to learn, hard to master. I have been told to my face and overheard some brag that they haven't missed a tube. Either they are lying or not as experienced as they would like or think. Because the operative word in that phrase is "yet".

I've been intubating since 1992. I have gotten tubes some would never get and I have missed tubes some would never miss. I have acquired enough experience to be comfortable enough to admit I may need help on some difficult airways. I don't consider myself good, reliable, or whatever. All I can say is that I'm experienced.

When did I begin to feel comfortable on airway? Can't say. That's a blur.

fast65

Doogie Howser FP-C
I missed the first couple intubations in the OR, but then I finally relaxed and went a little more slowly, and my success rate shot up. I can't say I really found it to be difficult, nor easy, it just depends on the patient. I think I'm decent at intubation, but I still have a long way to go before I feel like I would be competent in intubation.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
I have 3 field intubations, 2 of which were RSIs. 100% first pass success rate.

Still don't think I'm competent at it... just lucky, despite the grade 3/4 airways I've had.

OP
OP
mikie

mikie

Forum Lurker
Hey, just like the EZ-IO, I have no issue using the bougie on the first attempt if I think it will help. ^_^