Incident at EMT-B class on Saturday.

Fire219man

Forum Crew Member
I am still a bit hot over an incident that happened in EMT-B class this past Saturday.

As I stated in my Hello message to the forums. I was previously an EMT-B for about 3 years. Then I had to re-locate for my primary job as a software engineer. Hence I left the EMS business for a period of time. I have since returned. Thats been about 7 years since the last time I ran a call as an EMT-B.

During our class introductions on the first day, I spoke about how I was an EMT-B, and I ran for a few years, but it has been several years now since I have gotten back onto a deparment to run EMS calls. My EMT-B license expired due to I wasn't running on a department, hence I have to take the class all over again.

I am familiar with alot of the terminology and procedures that we are covering in class. It is almost like I am picking up on all those things I forgot about from my extended period of time away from the EMS business. I am scoring pretty high on tests. I am carrying a 98% in the class at the moment. I am the oldest in the class, and at times some of the students look to me for my opinion on things. Some of them I can answer, others I can't.

What I am fuming about is the situation that happend on Saturday. We now are doing patient assesments for both trauma and medical patients. Where you get a scenario from the instructor, and have to run the call like it was real. Verbalizing BSI,Scene Safe, MOI/NOI, C-Spine control, consider additional personel....etc.....

The class has been doing these for about 2 weeks now. Mostly the instructor partners you up with someone and you run the fake call together. I haven't been picked to do any of these scenarios until Saturday.

I am pretty familiar with how the Assessment Tree goes. I am also fairly confident in the skills you need to verbalize and execute during the scenario.