I'm a pretty new EMT. Advice on real patient assessments?

Dan216

Forum Crew Member
Hi all, I'm a fairly new EMT and for last 1.5 months or so I've been volunteering with a station. The station only has two paid guys per shift (It's small, 2-3 calls a day). They're a little short handed, so they don't mind me coming in a couple days a week to spend a day at the station.

Everyone's great about helping me learn, and I get along with all the guys! I've had two calls now where they have let me run the call and do the patient assessment. I always tend to freeze up, get tunnel vision, and basically forget all the questions I need to ask.:glare:

Do any of you experienced guys have any advice for me to get my actual patient assessment down?

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Practice practice practice. The more you do it the the better you will get.

Practice on family, friends, pets, anything.
With more experience you will become more comfortable and confident .

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Take extra vital signs on patients, especially in a noisy environment.

Learn the finer points of recognition, like heart and lung sounds, characterizing your findings so they are documented right and make sense to others (such as "irreg-irreg thready radial pulse not 1/1 with apical ausc" meaning you palped the wrist and got a weak pulse which had no discernible pattern and which did not match a similar pattern when you ausc the heart itself). Ask your receiving hospitals about what they want to see in documentation when you hand them over.

Rehearse how to palpate and characterize assessment of fractures and other injuries related to joints, limbs, spine, pelvis, clavicles, ribs.

Remember to learn the balance between going too fast (efficiency) versus taking too long (effectiveness).

Summit

Critical Crazy
Listen to what the patient is telling you.