How to find out about possible infectious diseases

seanm028

Forum Lieutenant
Hey everyone. Today a person passed out as I was walking by, so I called 911 and got a SAMPLE history, tried to get details about the events leading up to it (since it seemed like he might have had a Sz) and basically just tried to keep him (and his friends) calm until intervention arrived.

However, the more I think about it, the more worried I get. His signs/symptoms were not consistent with "standard" illnesses that normally cause people to experience syncope (very pale/ashen color at first, diaphoresis, incontinence to urine, supposedly Hx of blood in stool for past 2 days, etc. No known allergies, no medications, not diabetic) which is making me worried about meningitis or something else (we're in a college dorm). However, with HIPPA, it's not exactly easy to find out if he tests positive for something. Since I am a certified EMT and I was first on scene, is there some sort of a loophole or something that will allow me to at least find out if I'm at risk for anything?

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
If you have a documented exposure, as defined by federal/state law, you can find out under the Ryan White Act. But for general exposure (except in the case of infectious tuberculosis), this law does not apply. That is why PPE/BSI is so important in our business.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Couple of things:

Did you get exposed, such as blood, mucus, droplets, body fluids? If no, you had no exposure.

Wash your hands and removed exposed clothing afterwards?

Syncope can be caused by thousands of problems, most are non- communicable. If you are still worried, contact the ER Mgr, explain the problem and they should be able to direct you to the appropriate person.

R/r 911

OP
OP
S

seanm028

Forum Lieutenant