How to be a paramedic in California?

Goreandglory

Forum Ride Along
I have been a CNA for about a year and although it's a good job I don't feel like it was something I was meant to do. I've always know I wanted to be in the medical field but, after completing my CNA program I realized that I wanted to be a paramedic. I am from a small town next to Monterey Ca. And there are no paramedic programs near me. I am aware that it is a hard job and it's not a lot of money but I'm ok with that. I will be taking EMT hopefully in August and afterwards I am lost as to the process. Now my question is: what do I do after I am an EMT? What paramedic programs do you recommend? How difficult is it to get accepted into a paramedic program in ca? And is there anything else I should do thAt will help me get a job as a paramedic afterwards? I've met with different counselors at my community college but none seem to know the answer to any of my question. Some say get a BA in something else because it will look good on my resume. Others say get a degree in fire science. Other say leave your job and current major work out a lot and go straight into EMT now while you are young. Oh I'm 22 years old, with a son, and his father supports me a lot! I would rather not leave my job now because I know I need to save money to move for the paramedic program

Qulevrius

Nationally Certified Wannabe
The answer to your 1st question (i.e. 'what to do after becoming an EMT) is to find a job with an ambulance company and see how you like it. I personally would suggest to take the 1st job you're offered, even if it's a BLS/IFT, because it'll give you some insight into the nature of the job. Don't be in a rush to jump straight into a medic school, get some experience first before making a decision. You're 22 years young and have a responsibility to your child, that's one little life that depends on you and the choices you make. Just take one step at a time and explore the options.

Aprz