How does driving record affects employment decision?

mchung

Forum Ride Along
Hi everyone.

This is the first time I posted in this forum, and what an informative and useful forum this is! I am a newly graduated emt-b in bay area, California. I have read through many threads and realized how competitive it is to get a job in the area; fortunately I was invited to an interview for pro-transport fresh out of training.

Now, I am ready to pitch myself the best I can; no other companies are hiring right now and this might be my only chance to get a job close to home. I am worried, however, about a speeding ticket I got in 09/2010. It hasn't been erased and is 1 point on my record. Will this be a big difference maker in the hiring process? Can someone who has been on the hiring board offer me their opinion? Any advice or insider tip regarding the whole interview thing is greatly appreciated also :p.

I have tried searching for a post before posting, sorry if this has been discussed before.

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
Generally 1 point won't matter. With that said if you were placed against a candidate with everything else equal but with a clean driving record they will generally be picked over you but that's no an absolute.

There are plenty of people out there with points on their driving records who are employed in EMS though.

Good luck!

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Don't raise the point unless they ask, then simply tell them what it is. If it was not a case where really bad judgement and/or drinking/drugs were involved, it might not matter.

leoemt

Forum Captain
For some companies it is a huge issue because of their insurance requirements. The company I work for will not hire you if you have had ANY traffic violations within the last 3 years. That is a requirement set forth by the insurance company.