Hospital ORs suck!

Onceamedic

Forum Asst. Chief
I'm here to whine... (forewarned is forearmed)<_< I had my first clinical shift in the OR. The purpose is to practice intubations. I have been doing ED clinicals for the last two months and forgot how intimidating new environments and new people can be.
I got to the department and changed into the surgical scrubs, booties, etc. etc. The receptionist took me to meet the anasthesia staff. We walked into the pre-op holding rooms and the head guy turned his back on me, didnt want to know my name - said "We are really busy today - stay out of the way". It didn't get much better.
My first ever intubation attempt ever and I was checking my gear. I asked for a stylet for the tube. The anasthesiologist says "I never use 'em - and if you want to intubate my patient you don't use one either". Well, he's the doc - I had a great view of these chords but I couldn't get that stupid tube into that big ole hole without a stylet. Failed! Second patient - the RT tech did not preventilate adequately. (Did I mention they were really busy ? ) Big fat guy - just got into his mouth and his stats fell and I was ordered away from the cot. They ventilated again and did not give me another run at it. Bottom line, I didnt suceed one single time out of 4 attempts. I only got the attempts because I was chasing nurses down the hallway trying to find out if the patient was an ET, spinal, LMA or what and then latching on like a lamprey if it was an ET. (I did drop a bunch of LMAs) Did I mention the guy who's tristus was so severe that I actually hurt my fingers trying to pry his mouth open ?
Needless to say I'm a little down but if they think they can beat me by making it hard for me they've got another think coming. I have the hide of a rhinocerous and will do everything in my power to get those intubations.
Thanks for listening... I actually feel better.

cw15321

Forum Crew Member
At least they let you try!!!!!