HIPAA question

MonkeyArrow

Forum Asst. Chief
So I have a few questions regarding HIPAA and its use in a hospital setting. Background: I work in a hospital ER, signed all the HIPAA papers, confidentiality went through the orientation, etc. However, I do not personally have access (a login) to our online radiology viewing software.

So, if a treating physician shows me the images for teaching purposes (not officially, not a teaching hospital but still teaching me about reading the image), is it a HIPAA violation? The doctor surely has access to the images for treatment purposes but under the healthcare operations clause, does that entitle me to view them with the doctor? (Same thought process as QA/QI, I THINK it falls in the same boat.)

Now if the physician views images of other patients in the ED that they are not the assigned provider on, is this a HIPAA violation?

OnceAnEMT

Forum Asst. Chief
In either case, if no Pt identifying information is present on the image/screen, then neither is a HIPAA violation.

If identifying info is present, I am certain that the 2nd scenario with the doctor viewing an image that is not of his patient is a HIPAA violation.

About you viewing the image, I'd say it is gray area. Personally I will spin it and say that because I am the only Tech on the floor I am part of this patient's continuum of care. That said, since I am the one doing the splints, I always get a look at the xray if it is still on the screen since it makes my job easier, in addition to speaking with the physician about specific customizations.

JWalters

Forum Crew Member
What is your position in the ED?