Help me cope with sharps

Onceamedic

Forum Asst. Chief
I have hit a stupid snag in my paramedic career. I am brand new in the field and I have had 3 incidents in the last month where I have improperly disposed of my sharps. There are many reasons for this but obviously it is something I need to fix RIGHT NOW. I am looking for any tips, suggestions,etc that will help me remember to ALWAYS properly dispose of the sharp. Anything you can contribute will be much appreciated.

scottmcleod

Forum Crew Member
I have hit a stupid snag in my paramedic career. I am brand new in the field and I have had 3 incidents in the last month where I have improperly disposed of my sharps. There are many reasons for this but obviously it is something I need to fix RIGHT NOW. I am looking for any tips, suggestions,etc that will help me remember to ALWAYS properly dispose of the sharp. Anything you can contribute will be much appreciated.

I had the same thing when I started as an SR-P on top of my EMR certification.

My thing: constantly think to myself: "Is it pointy" (y/n?) if yes, "Have you finished with it on the patient?" (y/n), if yes, dispose, if no, why is it still in the patient? :p

Just make sure wherever you're working, there's a sharps case handy. It's a habits/patterns thing. When you're administering drugs / running lines / taking BGL / etc... it's all a series of steps and patterns. Takes 21 days to develop "flawless" habits. Every morning when you start your shift, practice with training-syringes or capped sharps, without opening any equipment (or real ones if your dept will let you). Repeat it until you can do it with your eyes closed and humming the national anthem.

Alternate idea: get your equipment officer (or whoever manages ordering gear) to get you a box of Sharps Shuttles (looks like a dildo with an orange/brown/red cap on the end...). Keep one in your pocket at all times and use it when you're not conveniently close to your "master" disposal.