Go Ahead And Tell US

Ms.Medic

Forum Captain
Id like to know how long everyone has worked in ems, and if your spouse works in ems as well. If so, do you find it harder to deal with than if just one of you worked ems?

I've been an emt for 7 years, I worked as a medic for Williamson County Sheriffs department before coming here to Austin Co EMS. My so works for Houston fd, as well as Westlake fd, and I love our schedules together. Sometimes it gets hard, for the most part, its awesome. Hfd works 24 on 24 off 24 on and 5 days off, and he works about 8 days at his westlake job. I normally work anywhere from 13 to 16 12 hour shifts for acems. So all in all we have about 15 days a month of together. I love it.

What about you ?

tydek07

Forum Captain
Volunteered as an EMT for 6 months before heading to medic school. After getting my medic, I have been working at F-M Ambulance since last June... so for about 8 months.

Kookaburra

Forum Lieutenant
I'm still a student, but that schedule certainly seems nice to me! I'm very independent, and need my space away from paramours. But I'm also a firm believer in "Don't get your honey where you get your money.":p

Sasha

Forum Chief
I've been an EMT less than a year. My medic class is over March 18th. My significant other is a police officer so no, he's not in EMS but he is in public safety. I'm currently unemployed, by choice, so I get to spend as much time with him as I can tolerate between studying, ride times and goofing off here. I used to work for a company that did both 911 and IFT responses, and I prefered IFT. I don't plan to work long as a paramedic, I'm currently in the process of applying to nursing school.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Upcoming my 32'nd year. Yeah, I started when I was in diapers :D

Sasha

Forum Chief
Yeah, I started when you were in diapers

I fixed that typo for ya, gramps :p

karaya

EMS Paparazzi
Premium Member