Getting a job in CO

paradoqs

Forum Crew Member
Hi. I'm a new EMT in the Denver area with no professional experience, trying to get a job as an EMT or ED tech. I have recently added IV and EKG certification to my resume and was wondering what else might help me get a job. Is it worth getting an EMT-I for the ALS if I don't have time or money or any exp. for P-school. I am currently getting my CNA just so I can get some healthcare experience in order to get an emergency medicine job. Is there anything else I should look at? I also have wilderness EMT cert but no one cares about that in the urban setting.

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
I am not really aware of any services in the metro area what use EMT-Is. There isn't much else you can do to increase your hirability. Just apply for one of the privates, such as R/M. They have very high turnover and are always looking for people, experienced or not.

Getting in to the ED out here is going to be pretty much impossible without experience.

OP
OP
P

paradoqs

Forum Crew Member
Already applied there, but that was before I had IV and EKG. Guess I will reapply.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
From what I've been told, RM gets so many applications lately, they have their pick. ACA seemed like they were always hiring. Pridemark... Don't bother right now, cause in about a month they turn into RM. I've still got applications in with RM and haven't heard anything in a while. But with them taking over PPS they might be hiring more soon

OP
OP
P

paradoqs

Forum Crew Member
Still havent found anything. About to finish my CNA cert to maybe get a hospital job and fenagle my way into the ED. May get around to hand delivering my resume to AMR and RM since they dont reply to email submissions apparently.

clibb

Forum Captain
Without an IV cert no one will basically look at you besides AMR, which isn't a company that I would recommend anyways.