EMT trying to Leave CA go to OR maybe

EMT Doom

Forum Ride Along
I have been an EMT-B in the southern california LA/OC for too long now. I recently have found the possibility to move out to Portland OR and that sounds nice. However the logistics of transitioning up there are seeming pretty daunting. Would I be able to find work out there as an emt-B? how easy is it to get though emt-I classes? What is the EMS scene like up there? How does the standard of living for emt-b up there compare? What am I missing? Any experience about the area would be really appreciated.

fast65

Doogie Howser FP-C
It's debatable on whether or not you will be able to find work as an EMT-B. 911 jobs seem to be pretty scarce here for paramedics, let alone EMT-B's, so chances are if you find work as an EMT-B, it would be on a wheel chair van.

As far as EMT-I classes go, I suppose it depends on what you consider "easy". From what I've heard from friends who have done EMT-I classes, they're not inherently difficult by any means.

What do you mean by the "EMS scene"? It varies a good amount by the area you're in. As far as Portland is concerned, it's mostly 3rd party to my understanding. Clackamas and Multonomah counties are run by AMR, and Washington county is run by Metro West. I know Metro West runs paramedic/basic configurations unless they have someone in FTO, and I think AMR is the same.

I can't really speak as to the standard of living.

Keep in mind that for reciprocity you'll need to have the following:

-NREMT-B
-California EMT-B in good standing
-Training in:

• Subcutaneous epinephrine administration
  • Supraglottic airways
  • CBG

Last edited by a moderator:

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
I would certainly listen to what this guy has to say. Oregon is different from California, in many respects, EMS is one of them. If you do move to Oregon, just remember that you need to leave California in California.