EMS job for 19 year old?

nicka02

Forum Ride Along
Does anybody know of any jobs for a 19 year old EMT? I have no experience as an EMT, but three years of experience as a Lifeguard providing care under my title 22 certification. I was told to look for a non-emergency transport job to first get a years worth of experience. I also thought about joining the coast guard, do you know of any?

Thanks

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Sure, apply around. Not everywhere requires you to be 21. I was 20 at my first EMT job.

OP
OP
N

nicka02

Forum Ride Along
I am applying around now, but I wanted to know if there were any additional jobs that I may have not been thinking of. I know there is a specific name for an EMT that works in the ER but I forgot what it was. Does anybody know?

Veneficus

Forum Chief
Does anybody know of any jobs for a 19 year old EMT? I have no experience as an EMT, but three years of experience as a Lifeguard providing care under my title 22 certification. I was told to look for a non-emergency transport job to first get a years worth of experience. I also thought about joining the coast guard, do you know of any?

Thanks

get your CPR instructor certificate, it pays better than IFT.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Interfactility Transfer. Hospital to hospital, nursing home to hospital, etc etc.

The "EMT that works in an ER" is called an "ER Tech". You're not only just relegated to the ER, you can be in the ICU, med/surg, etc, and you don't have to be an EMT, you can also be a CNA, MA, or Paramedic.

Last edited by a moderator:

Veneficus

Forum Chief
inter facility transport

Jeff Houston

Forum Ride Along
Jobs in New Jersey

For anyone on the east coast who is looking for work you should check out Meridian Health. They are a hospital in New Jersey with openings for occupational therapy assistants and other openings. I know it's not an EMT dreamjob but it would be good experience.

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
Dispatch

TransportJockey

Forum Chief