EMS in Canada

OP
OP
Wingnut

Wingnut

EMS Junkie
TTLWHKR said:
I always wondered... What is the little keg for?

Rum. Everyone knows that!

emtff376

Forum Lieutenant
I thought it was brandy. Alcohol either way! yum...

TTLWHKR

Forum Deputy Chief
Wilderness EMS Teaches that alcohol isn't the best way to warm a patient, in the long run.

emtff376

Forum Lieutenant
true, but still yum...

Sera

Forum Probie
BEorP said:
Sorry to take so long to reply to this thread, I am a Paramedic student in Toronto and school keeps me very busy these days. Hopefully you're still considering the move, or at least someone else will find the info useful. I will do my best to let you know a bit about EMS in Ontario. Keep in mind that this info may not be entirely correct as it is all coming from the top of my head. If there is a point where details matter I can check it with someone who knows for sure.

In Ontario we have three levels of EMS providers (not including First Responders):
- Primary Care Paramedics: two year college education (although always open for debate, this is probably around the level of EMT-I)
- Advanced Care Paramedics: after getting work experience, an addition year of education (generally considered equivalent to your EMT-P)
- Critical Care Paramedics: more education after experience, mainly used in flight but Toronto may be using some for ground critical transfers but I'm really not sure

To put it bluntly, an EMT-B cert means nothing in Ontario and will not give you the ability to challenge the EMCA exams (the exams that you need to write to become a PCP).

If you are an EMT-P then equivalency has much more potential. Although it may take a bit of work, I know for sure that it has been done in the past... as long as you really do have the skills and knowledge of an ACP.