"Dr" on scene

OnceAnEMT

Forum Asst. Chief
Hello! I've been reading these forums for the past few weeks now just enjoying the stories and challenging myself with the scenarios, and figured I would go ahead and register to ask about a scene that happened today.

Before I get into this, I just want to mention I am a state licensed EMT-B and am only a few months new to the profession.

I was at Easter Brunch with family at the nearby golf club when a waitress I knew came up to me asking me to come help with an injured worker. Upon approaching the scene, there are 4 men surrounding a young female on a sidewalk with a beverage-carrying golf cart (basically the size of a ground's keepers cart, but loaded high with drinks) next to her. Broken glass all around. MOI was never made clear to me, but it was either the cart tipped and she fell out, or the cart tipped, she fell out, and it fell on her. I see people with phones out and asked if EMS was notified and they said yes. I get there and see a man properly holding C-spine. Excellent. I ask the men if any of them were EMTs, Fire, anything, and one older gentleman on her side announces that he is a doctor. I acknowledge the spinal precautions and ask if he has done an assessment, and he says yes she is "good". I mention I am an EMT and ask if there is anything I can do to help, and he says he's got it. Following that he announces her jaw is fractured and puts a towel filled with ice on it. I hear a fire engine en route so I just head back inside.

I was not there first, so it wasn't my scene as I approached. If it were just citizens, of course I would have ran the call, using them to help. However, a man declaring he is a Dr. kind of puts me at the bottom of the totem pole. Did I do the right thing here, by going OK and stepping back? They weren't doing anything wrong, and since I didn't know how long it has been I could not say for certain whether they have or have not done an assessment, let alone a primary.