Does anyone know the answer ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ms.Medic

Forum Captain
Okay, Im studying a little bit tonight, okay well a lot, but I cant find the answer to a question about S4. Does anyone know, real quick off the top of their head, what exactly it means when you hear that ? EEEK, help.

medic417

The Truth Provider
Google heart sounds. You will find site that lets you hear them.

AJ Hidell

Forum Deputy Chief
It can mean several different things, as S4 is not diagnostic of any one particular problem, but simply a sign that several need to be ruled out. It can occur gradually, over time, with conditions such as pulmonary hypertension or hypertension related valve changes. It can onset rapidly due to cardiomyopathies such as a ventricular MI significantly decreasing ventricular compliance. In a younger adult, it usually means nothing, and can often be found by a particularly competent auscultator. But in middle age and older adults, it is always cause for concern and diagnostic follow-up. In the presence of hypertension, respiratory distress, or other signs of an MI, it is a red flag.

OP
OP
Ms.Medic

Ms.Medic

Forum Captain
It can mean several different things, as S4 is not diagnostic of any one particular problem, but simply a sign that several need to be ruled out. It can occur gradually, over time, with conditions such as pulmonary hypertension or hypertension related valve changes. It can onset rapidly due to cardiomyopathies such as a ventricular MI significantly decreasing ventricular compliance. In a younger adult, it usually means nothing, and can often be found by a particularly competent auscultator. But in middle age and older adults, it is always cause for concern and diagnostic follow-up. In the presence of hypertension, respiratory distress, or other signs of an MI, it is a red flag.

So what would be the best answer for " when s4 is heard, what is the most likely cause" ?

Would it be pulmonary htn ?

Aidey