DFW Paramedic Jobs

txmedic07

Forum Probie
I know there are some recent threads on available jobs around the Dallas metroplex, but I wanted to get some updated information from users. I'm a paramedic with over 5 years experience considering relocating to DFW.

I would prefer a 911 service or combination, and not fire based EMS.

Do you know what agencies are currently hiring? What EMS agencies have a good reputation? What are the average pay levels for most agencies?

Thanks

LonghornMedic

Forum Lieutenant
Medstar is the biggest private ambulance EMS player in DFW. Haven't heard great things. I know it's a busy system using system status management. A lot of fire based EMS up there. If you want my opinion, I would look at the multitude of 3rd services in Texas. There a lot of them around Central Texas(Austin). They pay better, have better benefits, work less and have nicer equipment. Having worked both private EMS and 3rd service EMS, you couldn't drag me back to private EMS for all the money in the world.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
MedStar is NOT a private agency. They are, in all technicality, a "municipal' service. MedStar actually has a FANTASTIC reputation around here. Decent pay, good protocols (heck, they just started Advanced Practice Paramedics), and a varying area that they work in. However, they ARE a very busy service... expect 12-16+ calls in a 12hr shift. There will be days where you run less, but you still run quite a bit on the norm.

AMR, infact, is the largest "EMS player" in DFW.

Same list I'll put here that I put in the other DFW thread:

AMR (911 in Arlington and Collin county, IFT in Dallas)
TLC (Texas Lifeline Corp) (IFT)
LoneStar (IFT)
CareFlite (HEMS, 911 in Johnson county, IFT in the rest of DFW)
MedStar (911 in Ft Worth area)
Guardian (911 down south, but IFT in DFW)
MedicOne (IFT)
Rockwall County (911)
Wise County (911)

The west side of DFW tends to be municple / 3rd service, whilst the east side tends to be fire-based.

LonghornMedic