Command Structure?

Free-B-EMT

Forum Probie
This question is for the volunteers out there.

I was a volunteer firefighter for 20 years before moving to a new town where I joined the volunteer first aid squad. Since the fire dept I belonged to was very much into command and control at the scene, I was very surprised to find out that my new squad has little to no command structure. The bylaws state that the "Duty Crew" is in charge of the scene. I have questioned how this is supposed to work at a larger incident when the Duty Crew would be handling patient care. Who would be making decisions on what is needed as far as additional equipment, manpower, etc? I have yet to get a definitive answer and the overall attitude seems to be "it's never been a problem before so why worry about it?"

My question is this. Is this common among volunteer squads? Do any volunteer squads out there have a solid command structure that can be put in place when needed? How about MCI preplans, mutual aid agreements with other towns or updated lists of available equipment in the area? Any comments would be appreciated. I'm just trying to find out if I'm alone in being concerned about this.

Vizior

Forum Crew Member
Do you have officers that will respond to a larger incident, something such as a car wreck, bus wreck, toxic gas leak, etc? If so, it is the first unit due's responsibility to begin triage and make the appropriate call for further resources. You can't get sucked into the mind set that when you get on scene, to find a patient to start treating.

It all goes back to the same old scene safety, BSI, and then what further resources are needed.

OP
OP
F

Free-B-EMT

Forum Probie
No we do not have officers that respond to any incident, except if they happen to be on duty at that time. The fact that they are an officer gives them no more authority than any other member. The officer positions on my squad are more of an administrative position than anything else.

Vizior

Forum Crew Member