Cardioverting Pants

VFlutter

Flight Nurse
I work as a Telemetry Monitor Tech at a Hospital and last night I had a patient who was on one of our med/surg floors. The most frustrating part of my job is calling Nurses who have no cardiac experience and trying to explain to them what is going on with their patient, it is like talking to a brick wall. This is a conversation I had with a Nurse which I thought was funny, maybe it was just the situation and 11 hours of work but here is is anyway.

Me: "Hey, you need to check on your patient in Room X he is sustaining AIVR in the 90s they were previously Sinus Brady 40s"
Nurse: "What is AIVR?
Me: "Accelerated idoventricular Rhythm, it is a ventricular rhythm, basically slow V tach (Trying to explain it so she understands)
Nurse: " Ohhh. Well he is getting dressed and trying to put his pants on" I am assuming she said this because sometimes we call when it alarms V Tach when the patients are up moving around just to check them anyway.
Me: "No this is not an issue with the leads he has converted into a different rhythm then he was before, I would give the PA a call"

So she hangs up the phone and I got a call a few minutes later....
Nurse: "Hey, I put his pants on him, is he any better?"
Me "NO, you putting the patient's pants on did not make him any better he is still in AIVR and has been for the past 10 mins. Did you call the PA?'
Nurse " No, I was helping the patient put his pants on"

Really??:censored: :blink:

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
Wait I don't get it, why are you monitoring their patients and having to call them if something changes? Can't you just tell them in person or are you not on the floor? I've never been on a med/surg floor so I don't know how it works.

OP
OP
VFlutter

VFlutter

Flight Nurse