California Recert - Lapse more than one year

alyssa_

Forum Probie
Hi there!

Maybe I'm just an incompetent google researcher, but I can't figure out what exactly I need to recert in LA County, or if it's even possible. Any help would be appreciated! Basically I've been working in a totally unrelated field for the past few years and unfortunately let my certs rot and die. Here's where I'm at.

Original EMT Course Completion: 06/2010
NREMT Exp.: 03/2012
CA State Cert Exp.: 6/2012

UCLA EMT Refresher Completion: 04/2012
Skills Verification Completion: 04/2012
AHA CPR Exp: 04/2014

Recert form:
http://ems.dhs.lacounty.gov/certification/EMTRecertApp.pdf

Apparently to recert after a 12 month lapse (which I just missed <_<) I need a NREMT Written Exam Pass Letter and Skills test. However, if I did my research correctly, I can't recertify by examination for the NREMT since I completed my original EMT course more than 2 years ago, unless I've done a refresher course and have current state certification. Catch 22?

Am I screwed and have to redo EMT school? Not sure if it would be worth it, especially if ambulance hours don't count for PA school... haha. Either way, thank you for the help!

Last edited by a moderator:

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
Hi there!

Maybe I'm just an incompetent google researcher, but I can't figure out what exactly I need to recert in LA County, or if it's even possible. Any help would be appreciated! Basically I've been working in a totally unrelated field for the past few years and unfortunately let my certs rot and die. Here's where I'm at.

Original EMT Course Completion: 06/2010
NREMT Exp.: 03/2012
CA State Cert Exp.: 6/2012

UCLA EMT Refresher Completion: 04/2012
Skills Verification Completion: 04/2012
AHA CPR Exp: 04/2014

Recert form:
http://ems.dhs.lacounty.gov/certification/EMTRecertApp.pdf