Book Recommendation Compendium! Let's hear your thoughts and recs!

beandip4all

Forum Lieutenant
Based on recommendations from this forum, I purchased and enjoyed working through Clinically Oriented Anatomy and also Pathologic Basics of Disease.

I'm an EMT-B who hopes to do Paramedic school, then PA school... and in the meantime I'm doing pre-reqs for that and trying to learn as much as I can/prepare as well as possible.

I thought it would be nice to have a book recommendation thread.

I'll start- recommended to me at the GH ED where I volunteer: Hippocrates Shadow- written by an ER doc and has a piercing viewpoint on the state of medicine today. Interesting, informative and enlightening read.
http://www.amazon.com/Hippocrates-Shadow-Secrets-House-Medicine/dp/1416551530

Also- for your basic knowledge- less quick of a read as Hippocrates Shadow- Medical Terminology for Health Professionals
http://www.amazon.com/Medical-Terminology-Health-Professions-Ehrlich/dp/1401860265

What cha got? Looking for "must reads" - would love some reads touching on diabetes, polypharmacy, geriatrics, bariatrics, drug research, or broad based subject books. Not so interested in bureaucratic/governance/socialized medicine debate side of things... waded through more than enough of that junk in my former wall street career!

Thanks for your thoughts...
Beandip

ps- i seached before posting this thread and couldnt BELIEVE there had never been a thread on this before!?

Last edited by a moderator:

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
"Rapid Interpretation of EKGs" by Dale Dubin.

A must for anyone that routinely does EKGs, and good for anyone else just for understanding.

Outbac1

Forum Asst. Chief
In this "Education and Training" a search for "Paramedic Textbooks or books " should get you something.

A reprint of a reply of mine from March 08.

The courses I've been involved with have used not one but several. For my PCP I had

Mosby's Paramedic Text (2nd ed)