Becoming a PA

lampnyter

Forum Captain
Ive been contimplating the idea of becoming a PA. The only problem is, i didnt do too good in high school. I didnt fail or anything but i also wasnt the top of my class. I havent gone to college yet but im only 18. Im an EMT and i was wondering if that will help me get into college. And after college, how hard would it be for me to get into a PA course?

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Find out what PA schools you want tp go to, find out their requirements and head off to community college. Some schools only require an associates, and some a bachelors, depends on the school you want to go to.

OP
OP
lampnyter

lampnyter

Forum Captain
Since i never had a good guidance counselor in HS, can you please explain the difference between an associates and bachelors degree.

TacoMEDIC

Forum Crew Member
You're going to need to get your Bachelors Degree then apply to PA schools. If you do well in community college, you should be able to get into a University without too much trouble. Do well in University and you should be able to get into a good PA Program without too much trouble. I don't think that HS grades will have much of anything to do with your process at that point.

OP
OP
lampnyter

lampnyter

Forum Captain
But will my highschool grades stop me from getting into a college? Im hoping having so many hours of being a voulenteer EMT (since i was 16) will help on my transcript.

TacoMEDIC

Forum Crew Member
But will my highschool grades stop me from getting into a college? Im hoping having so many hours of being a voulenteer EMT (since i was 16) will help on my transcript.

I dont think you will run into any problems. As long as you graduated, you should be fine. Most CCs make you take an assessment test to enroll. The test is designed to test your competency in Math, English, etc. It is done so you know which level classes you should start with. CCs usually dont require you to be accepted to enroll like Universities do.

Symbolic