Bay Area EMS

merchan5967

Forum Ride Along
I'm a pretty new paramedic currently working for a company in Arizona. A friend of mine from a previous job recently moved to the Bay Area of California and has really been talking it up. He loves it there and he's been trying to convince me to move to that area. I'd be lying if I said I hadn't been entertaining the idea. Of course I know the cost of living out there is astronomical so I am wondering if medics make ok money out there, or if they have opportunities to get OT. Of course it'll be another several months before I really start to consider this, as I want to get at least a year of experience before I start looking but basically I'm wondering if I could survive on medic pay in that area. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Angel

Paramedic
you should be able to survive, but not in SF or any of the cities near by. (SF rent is ridiculous even with roommates) the hard part is getting a job though. Rural Metro and Paramedics plus rarely hire. In fact have a waiting list of I believe 46 or so (medics) that theyll go through hopefully before the end of the year. Santa Clara County has some of the most annoying and expensive regs to getting certified. AMR hires every so often and pay is great from what im told ($24 an hour) which after OT and such comes out to a pretty decent paycheck. The closer you get to SF the more expensive rent will be but a lot of people commute or take public transportation. .

Moving a bit east toward Marin, Sonoma, Solano area rent gets a little bit better, and depending on where you work commuting shouldnt be too hard. pay is about the same