Australia recruiting international paramedics

46Young

Level 25 EMS Wizard
From what I've read on this forum, this service is supposed to pay well, and have excellent benefits/working conditions. I'd look into why they need to hire from foreign countries. Is there some factor that's creating turnover? Or is there simply a shortage of paramedics over there?

What are their educational requirements?

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
I would love to move to and work in Australia...

46Young

Level 25 EMS Wizard
This might not be a bad idea - I love to surf, I've got NR-P and six years medic experience so I'm recognized as equivalent, and Australia could be a safe haven if and when we experience hyperinflation and this country goes down the tubes. Their EMS is also not effed up like our joke system, nationally speaking.

The above is not as tongue-in-cheek as it appears to be. I would really consider the move if this country continues on it's path to financial ruin.

McGoo

Forum Crew Member
Ha, this is who I work for. The reason for international recruiting is that we are expanding massively at the moment, and are in short supply of paramedics. 15 years ago maybe 10 or 15 people would get trained every year. Now there are two groups of 100 rookies every year, plus however many get recruited from interstate or overseas.

I just found out how different Australia and US EMS systems are. We work essentially independently, if we see something that needs treating, we treat it. No online control, no checking with the doctor. We can call up in exceptional circumstances, but I've only done it once in 18 months.

InsidiousStealth

Forum Crew Member