Anyone else work in a "correctional setting"? (Jail, prison, "crossbars hotel", etc)

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
I know there won't be much revolving around ambulances..or will there?
Working with inmates means seeing many of the people you see on the street only with officers nearby and the Supreme Court watching.

Many come in with longstanding problems, many previously undiagnosed; few are totally cooperative and/or are just uneducated; some are smarter than you are, nonetheless.
And if there was ever a place to practice "scene safety", this is it.
So...any others?

OP
OP
mycrofft

mycrofft

Guess not

:sad:................

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
I used to work as a jailer, but don't any longer. That's why I didn't reply the first time around.

OP
OP
mycrofft

mycrofft

Thanks ffemt8978.

.....;).......

BOPDCTEMT

Forum Probie
I work for the Federal Bureau of Prisons.

OP
OP
mycrofft

mycrofft

BOPDCTEMT, welcome to the forum.

The other members have a small idea of what work is like in a correctional setting (well, some may have more than they want to admit...that didn't sound right). Are you a line medical person, a correctional officer, or administrative/staff?

BOPDCTEMT

Forum Probie
In the Bureau we are all CO's first but my primary mission is medical. I'm also on the Disturbance Control Team as a tactical EMT. I really enjoy it, it's quite different than working the streets for 7 years prior.

OP
OP
mycrofft

mycrofft

Dang, good deal.