Any advice for a student?

CFDRescue45

Forum Ride Along
Hi all,

I'm new to these forums. I've been interested in the Fire Service for a number of years, and recently, I've realized that it's time for me to make a decision concerning what sort of a career path I'd like to take. A friend once told me that there was a place for everyone in the Fire Service, and I believe that my place involves the non-firefighting aspect of the field.

I'm currently in my second year at a Junior College. I chose a Business Major only because I wasn't aware of what all of my options were at the time that I enrolled in College. Now, though, I've realized that there are degree programs at school that may allow me to become involved in a field that I have a great amount of interest in.

We're moving to Texas this summer, and the local Community College (Brookhaven Community College in Farmers Branch, Texas) has an Emergency Medical Services-Emergency Medical Technician Basic Certificate program. (The web page for the program outline can be found at this link.) I was curious to get the opinions of those already involved in the field. Would this be a good place for me to start?

Any other advice would be much appreciated. Thank-you very much. :)

Stevo

Forum Asst. Chief
welcome CFDRescue45

are we to assume you'd like to use ems as a stepping stone to further something pertinent to a biz degree ?

~S~

OP
OP
C

CFDRescue45

Forum Ride Along
Stevo said:
welcome CFDRescue45

are we to assume you'd like to use ems as a stepping stone to further something pertinent to a biz degree ?

Thanks for the welcome. :)

I'm honestly not sure where the Business Degree will lead me. It was really a stepping-stone to get me into College. My dad was a Business Major, and so, I followed what he had done. I'm going to go ahead and complete my Associate's Degree in Business, but I'm not planning on going any further with it (at this time).