American Paramedic interested in Australia or NZ

thegreypilgrim

Forum Asst. Chief
Hey everyone.

I'm currently a paramedic from Southern California in the US. I'm interested to know what the process would be if one were looking to relocate to either one of the wonderful nations of Australia (i.e. prison colony) or New Zealand (i.e. sheep colony). ;)

What, exactly, would I have to do? Is there any sort of mechanism for reciprocity? Would I have to complete an Aussie or NZ approved paramedic course (as I understand it, these are usually bachelor-degree appropriate). What if I have a degree in EMS? How is the job market for paramedics in your respective countries?

Thank you guys so much for any input.

MrBrown

Forum Deputy Chief
If you were bad in England you got sent to Oz if you were bad in Oz they sent you here .... what does that say about us?

Everything is changing here; but basically works like this: EMS here is provided under contract to the Ministry of Health by two hospital based services (Wairarapa and Taranaki District Health Boards -- don't worry about the pronounciation even I can't quite get it down) and two private not for profits, Wellington Free (again, a minority provder) and St John (that covers 90% of the country).

Reciprocity is at the behest of the service, there is no nationally consistent structure and the system is so fragmented it's a bit of a nightmare as qualifications, titles, scopes of practice, remuneration and who gets what in terms of authority to practice and reumeration is totally controlled by the individual services.

I can only speak for St John and less specifically, Wellington Free as I have no experience in the DHB services.