Advice on taking Anatomy and Physiology

Kale

Forum Probie
Hey folks,

So I started work (finally), and it's great. My problem right now is my days off. Prior to starting work as an EMT, I was a Ph.D. student for four years and a rather intense college student immediately before that. So, in other words, I'm not really used to having days off where I literally have nothing I need to do, I'm used to studying. So, I'm kind of going stir crazy right now, there's only so many times I can clean my apartment.

If all goes well I'll be starting medic school in a year or so, so I'm looking in CC courses I could possibly pick up (and/or books I could read) that would be helpful towards that end.

I was thinking about taking an Anatomy and Physiology course through my local CC this semester. Some of it would definitely just be a refresher - my masters degree is in human skeletal biology so lets just say I have a pretty good sense of how the human body is put together, and some of it would be more or less new information - such as the nervous system, of which I only have cursory knowledge.

I prefer sitting in lecture and doing hands-on work in lab, the issue is is that I'm not on a permanent schedule with work yet, nor will I be for about a month or so. There is an online option for A&P through the local CC, but I'm a bit wary of online courses, especially for things like this.

Anyone have any experience taking A&P online? Or does it seem like taking a course like this online leaves you at a disadvantage compared to a lecture/lab course (assuming the study habits of the student would be essentially the same).

Also, if anyone knows of any interesting internet/book resources that may be of interest to someone prepping for medic school I'm more than happy to hear suggestions! Thanks!

emtME

Forum Probie