A newcomer in every sense of the word.

Ansible

Forum Ride Along
Greetings everyone, and happy holidays! I am currently a college student who is interested in being an EMT in the Atlanta area, but have no idea where to start.

I've ghosted on this site for a little while, but this if my first post, so advice of any kind would be appreciated.

Here is my question: where would be a good place to start prepping for this kind of a job? What kind of place should I look at for a training program, and what should I buff up on before-hand?

jjesusfreak01

Forum Deputy Chief
Here is my question: where would be a good place to start prepping for this kind of a job? What kind of place should I look at for a training program, and what should I buff up on before-hand?

A good program will teach you most of the head knowledge you need to work as an EMT, but if you want something extra, go for a basic anatomy and physiology textbook, so you have some basis to understand the conditions of your patients. The real learning, however, happens in the field, so you are best off if you find an EMS system with a good field training program.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
Is there any chance you could do a ride-along in a 911 system before you commit to an EMT class?

Level1pedstech

Forum Captain
Is there any chance you could do a ride-along in a 911 system before you commit to an EMT class?

Such a simple bit of advice but probably the single best that could be offered to a person before they get started. I have always been curious how people can take on even a basic class let alone start medic school before they have even seen what they may be asked to do. Even if you factor out the real negatives there are still several things about this line of work that one should be aware of before they make an investment in time or money on training of any kind.