2nd AA Degree? Help!

BillyMan

Forum Crew Member
Ok. Right now I am a Senior in high school. But at the same time I am a Sophomore at my local community college. My state (Washington) has a program called Running Start, where I take classes at my local community college tuition free and get credits both towards my high school diploma and my AA. My goal has always been to get my AA in Paramedicine, but here is where I am stuck. The college that I go to right now doesn't have a paramedicine program, yet I am already halfway towards an AA at that college. So I figured that I might as well finish it there before I get my EMT-B certification and then go on to get my AA in Paramedicine. So, my question to all of you is, what would be a degree or possibly even a CoC that would help me best in a career in EMS? Right now I am on track for a degree in Business Management, as I figured that leadership and proffessional business skills would be appreciated in years down the road once I work my way up the ladder. But the college I'm going to now also has Degrees and CoC's in things like Med. Assisting, Health Occupations Core, CNA CoC, etc. Would any of these give me an edge?

Thanks for any input guys. Especially to everybody who read the whole thing. ^_^

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Are you sure about the applied art degree in CNA? The reason, any legitimate degree is in applied science and definitely not as a CNA, when a RN only requires an associate degree. The same as health occupations in what?

Now, if you are discussing Technology classes that applies to colleges, I understand that.

To your question, get any accredited degree, then apply your basics to it, and most you will take is a few required co-requisite courses and Paramedic courses, you will have the Paramedic degree. Get a academic and career counselor at the college.

As an instructor, I will forewarn you though, most EMS does not hire those less than 21 -23 years of age. Due to insurance and emotional development.