Where should I go?

job_seeker

Forum Ride Along
Hey there everyone,
I'm a relatively new paramedic with two years on road experience in an Australian metropolitan ambulance system...and getting the itch for abroad!

Been thinking in a few directions, and only have a few criteria
- Big City (need to be in the midst of it all!)
- Busy service
- Extremely important: great working environment (colleagues, management...the general culture needs to be supportive of best practice, striving forward).

What services worldwide do you know of and could recommend? Don't care where in the world, but am slightly limited by language (english only).
Oh yes, and I have a bachelors degree in Paramedicl Science, so that may help too :)

Cheers in advance for all your recommendations!

fortsmithman

Forum Deputy Chief
Have you thought of Canada. If you choose going to the USA you would be over qualified as the length of time for training of an ALS provider in the USA runs anywhere from 2 months to 2 years with the majority completing only 1 year of training. One thing I have noticed from a lot of US paramedics is that they seem opposed to increased education requirements. Although there is a growing minority that do want higher education requirements.

Medic949

Forum Ride Along
Have you thought of Canada. If you choose going to the USA you would be over qualified as the length of time for training of an ALS provider in the USA runs anywhere from 2 months to 2 years with the majority completing only 1 year of training. One thing I have noticed from a lot of US paramedics is that they seem opposed to increased education requirements. Although there is a growing minority that do want higher education requirements.