What material is on the Australian Paramedic test?

lacountylifeguard

Forum Probie
I am an English teacher and in the summer I work in aquatics, mainly as a SCUBA diving instructor. I have an EMT-B license, but I want to study part time for the Australian paramedic exam so that I can help a SCUBA student who may have medical issues while we are on a dive boat far from the shore. Can anyone let me know where I can find a curriculum for what is on the exam (especially which drugs I need to know about, which skills I need to know, etc.). Thanks.

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
I am an English teacher and in the summer I work in aquatics, mainly as a SCUBA diving instructor. I have an EMT-B license, but I want to study part time for the Australian paramedic exam so that I can help a SCUBA student who may have medical issues while we are on a dive boat far from the shore. Can anyone let me know where I can find a curriculum for what is on the exam (especially which drugs I need to know about, which skills I need to know, etc.). Thanks.

So let me try and clarify (there will be some assumptions)...

You have your EMT-B. Judging by your SN, you are American?

You are not currently in either an American or Australian paramedic program?

You wish to study on your own for the Australian paramedic exam. Do you plan on taking said exam? Is it not a requirement in Australia to attend a paramedic program prior to sitting for their licensing exam?

You plan on using the knowledge you gain from studying for this test to provide advanced medical aid to a potentially sick diver, up to and including giving medications and performing procedures outside of your current scope of EMT-B? Will this all be freelance medical care, as well?

Any further clarification you wish to add would be appreciated as well...

:unsure:

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
L

lacountylifeguard

Forum Probie
I am going to go point by point:

You have your EMT-B. Judging by your SN, you are American?