Wanna-Be Newbie!

kateemt

Forum Ride Along

Hi - Hope someone here can help...?

Here's the scoop - I have been considering which career path to follow for many years. WHy so long...? Well - I have been home raising my kids, and the timimg to persue whichever path I decide upon was never right. Now my children are older and in school (although still young - 1st and 3rd garders) - and I am finally narrowing down my thoughts. For the last, oh, 4 or 5 years I have repeatedly returned to either nursing or paramedic as a choice.

Which brings me to here....for advice/tips/help/anything you can offer on the harsh realities of EMT/PM life....?

I am also not really in a position to quit work and attend school f/t - a local college here offers a basic EMT course. I believe it runs for approx. 5 months. Is it possible to work and attend college at the same time? :wacko:

So many questions.....but I'll start out with just a few for now :blush:

1. What is the training progression like. Am I right to think once pre-recs are done, that one studies to be an EMT-Basic, has to work a year, and then can study to be a paramedic...?

2. What is the pay like?

3. How many hours a week does one work on average? Can you be choosey on shifts? Or not :rolleyes:

4. Truthfully, how does this affect personal life - marriage/relationships/children. I expect shift work, but I was wondering if places offered, say, a 3 day 12 hr, with 4 days off......? Or something that works for family life at least a little.....?

5. If you work as an EMT_Basic for a year - do you continue to study? Or is it "on the job" training? Are you partnered with a seasoned paramedic?

6. Do you have to buy your own uniform and supplies or is it all provided?

Thanks so much everyone :)

oldschoolmedic

Forum Lieutenant
welcome to the club

We'll take your questions in order, or at least try...