Stair Chair Lifting help

Caliza

Forum Ride Along
I will warn you first that this will probably get a bit long.

---
I'm currently a paramedic student, and at the end of each semester we have benchmarks we have to meet for our lift testing (doing each lift on a stretcher, loading the stretcher in and out of an amublance, walking with a backboard and then taking a stair chair up and down two flights of stairs, switching ends with our partener and then doing the two flights up and down all over again).

I've been doing fine with the backboard and stretcher lifts, but I'm struggling a lot with my stair chair. The benchmark for the end of last semester was 190 pounds, but I didn't quite get there, so I had to take a "grade deferred". Fine. At the beginning of the current semester I injured my arm pretty bad, so (on doctors orders) there was a time period of about 3 weeks where I couldn't lift at all (and as such, not only could I not progress, but I lost a lot of the progress I had made beforehand..:( and even after that three weeks was up I was easing myself back into it, as I didn't want to cause any further damage (and lets not forget that just as my arm was healing, I managed to sprain my ankle. Yeah, that past few months have not been fun for me...).

So, this week we've started testing with this semesters benchmark weight - 210 pounds. I got in my stretcher and backboard lifts no problem, but again, I struggled with the stair chair. Now, my course instructor is sympathetic to the fact that I may not get to 210 because of my injuries and stuff (I had a doctors note for my arm). I did part of the stair chair lift at 210 the other day, but could not complete the lift all the way. Thing is, I still have incomplete on the 190, so my instructor wants me to be able to complete that one (so that I don't have 2 grade deffereds...). I did the 190 lift today, and while I completed it I had a lot of difficulty, was very out of breath and had to take long rests.