So thats what that "pop" sounds like...

Jamie72

Forum Ride Along
Hello all, this is my 1st post,

I am a student in a PCP class, and its so far so good. Everthing was going great, i have been kicking *** on the written tests 92% and 94% so far, then yesterday we had our first serious practical tests on sager and entenox. I was a little nervous, but i ran my call fairly well. I study like a madman because i want to have a good understanding of the "why". Anyways after the call was done my partners (fellow students) were like "good call" ect, and i thought i was happily and successfully through, no body could think of any big screw ups ect.

Time to get my review/feedback... Walk in.. "How do you think it went?" me - "well im sure its no where near perfect, im still new, but i thought it went ok, secondary survey could probably use some polish.."

pregnant pause

"What kind of fracture was this?" - instructor

"Well, it was a mid-third Tib-fib closed fracture" - me

(during the call when i cut and exposed the injury it was described as a small wound with a small trickle of blood coming out, no protruding bone ends)

"um no, its a open fracture, how much traction did you put on that?"

(suddenly i heard a large pop, as my head came straight out of my ***, how could i have messed up such a simple concept dammit, a month of practice down the drain, none of my fellow group of 4 students had picked up on this either)

"um, sigh 15lbs" - me

the instructor sympathized with me that it was a common mistake, but i felt like a total ***, all my hardwork flushed with one simple missed definition. I must have read 600 pages in the last month. The damn picture in the text book shows an open fracture as a compound fracture. Well i guess i wont make that mistake ever again. I guess i just need to vent, ive been moping around today, thanks for reading

j

Topher38

Forum Lieutenant
So the bone had protruded through the skin then went back in? Is that what happened?