Ride A-Longs

indygirl14

Forum Crew Member
I'm starting EMT-B school in January...

So far, the program that I am enrolling in carries the highest requirement for ride-alongs and clinicals in my city (that I've found): 24 hours of ambulance time and 24 hours of ER time.

I'm also spending this entire weekend riding along with my cousin's crew (Friday at 7 am through Monday at 7 am, 12 hours on primary and 12 hours on secondary), which I pretty much have the option to do whenever she's working, and plan to take advantage of. BTW, she is the Lead Paramedic.

NJN

The Young One
My squad has any prospective member Cadet or EMT, do at least a 4 hr. ride along to see if they're crazy enough to ride in my town and then if your not an EMT yet we get you CPR/AED and FA certs. I don't know about NJ's requirement for ride-alongs during Basic school or how much time is spent in an ER. I will prolly go out for Basic school next summer, when i have more time. I've been riding for 5 months and loving every minute of it.

Tincanfireman

Airfield Operations
When I went to EMT school(long time ago) we were required to do 10- 12 hour shifts, spread out among four counties.