Paramedic Training

emtgirl_2008

Forum Ride Along
I am a emt-b and would like to go on to get my paramedic although I was wondering if it is a good idea to work as a emt for awhile and how much different is it than EMT training?

firecoins

IFT Puppet
medic training is more intensive. There is a ton of rotations that need to be done. It is very doable though.

There are 2 trains of though on how long you should wait to go from EMT-B to medic.

First is to work as an EMT for a certain length of time and become a "master of BLS" before moving on to learning ALS.

The second is to do it immediatly after becoming an EMT-B. This way you don't learn bad habits. And when you graduate medic with experience as an EMT-B and thos with none will make the same salary.

OP
OP
E

emtgirl_2008

Forum Ride Along
Ok..that makes sense either way....It is definitly something i want to do sometime....although i'd have to move because the trucks in town here are only BLS trucks so working here with my paramedic wouldn't really benifit anyhow....but maybe someday!

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
hit the search button or sift through the boards manually. either way you'll find this topic has been discussed ad nauseam.

and welcome to the forum.

edit: this is the most recent rehashing of this topic, there are more:

http://www.emtlife.com/showthread.php?t=6595

Last edited by a moderator:

firecoins

IFT Puppet
Ok..that makes sense either way....It is definitly something i want to do sometime....although i'd have to move because the trucks in town here are only BLS trucks so working here with my paramedic wouldn't really benifit anyhow....but maybe someday!

I know medics who still work on BLS trucks. They are more knowledable of course. ;)

How about just commutting to where medics work?

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
I know medics who still work on BLS trucks. They are more knowledable of course. ;)