Long Week - Long Post (sorry)

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
Just to give you a little background before I start my rant:

I currently take care of my disabled mother, and live with her at this time. She is enrolled in a program called COPES, in which the state assists (read "pays all of") her with medical costs and other things. Part of this is that she is entitled to have a Independent Care Provider for so many hours a month, and I am hired as that ICP. The job is for 68 hours a month, at a pay rate of basically $8.50 per hour. She is required to pay all of my wages, since the state pays all of her medical costs (around $2-3K per month).

The Rant:

When we enrolled in this program, I was told that I would have to attend a 28-hour course called "Fundamentals of Care Giving". When I informed social services that I was an EMT, I was told that I could have the class waived based upon my EMT status. I then notified the private company contracted to provide the class, and asked for the information to process my waiver request. They asked if I was a RN, LPN, or CNA. I informed them that I was not, but that I was an EMT.

I was then told that I could not get the classroom portion waived, because it did not cover "emergency medicine". Okay, so I get the time off from work and attend the class. During the introductions, the instructor asks me what I'm doing in the class since I could challenge the test after taking a modified class (10 hours). I then told her what had transpired with the company in charge, and she shook her head. I was then used as an Instructor's Assistant for the rest of the class as I repeatedly called the company to schedule the challenge test. I didn't receive a call back, so I completed the course.

The course ciriculum is as follows:
1. Student Centered Learning (like I could have made it this far without knowing this info) <_<
2. Role of the Caregiver (very similar to EMT class) <_<
3. Basic Responsibilities