How do you receive your continued education?

Sophie

Forum Probie
Sorry everyone. I initially posted this in another section.

I am a paramedic working in the mid-west. I have been in EMS over 21 years and a paramedic now for 19. I love my job but took a different position 3 years ago and feel my ALS education and training is suffering. Not just for me but our entire department.

I am an instructor (ACLS, BLS, PALS, PEPP, PHTLS, Primary Instructor) but do not instruct for my new employment as this is primarily our EMS Division Chief's job, who I might add does not hold any instructorships.

How do you receive your training where you work? Who is teaching? Do you have an EMS Division Chief and EMS Training Officer? Is this a seperate position or one of the same? If so, can you tell me a little about both positions within your organization. We are in the process of reorganizing and would like some input from other services.

Thanks!

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
We have a state mandated program called OTEP that our regional EMS council instructs. In addition, we do some in house training and some on-line training.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
I am in a similar predicament as you. At this time, I am the primary educator at my service, but unsure for how long. We have an supervisor that is responsible for CEU's, but I teach?.. As you can understand the confusion and like many other EMS, internal politics is going now, as I type.

Like your predicament this Supv. holds no cert.'s to teach (hence, the reason I teach and use my credentials) albeit they obtain the credit ( they are awaiting to get into instructor level courses). So yes, it can be confusing and frustrating. I teach all the alphabet soup courses, and save the adm. butt loads of money, which in IMHO is not very appreciated.

Each crew (3) has FTO's and are responsible for some of the CEU's, but their main responsibility is orientation, etc.