Feel like I am not retaining information in school

bdrm714

Forum Ride Along
I am currently a student with PERCOM Online, a hybrid course. I did this because I went through a course in person 2013 but could not sit for NREMT due to a deployment with the Army. I did well in that course and so far, am doing well in this course, as per graded homework and the tests. I do know quite a bit of the information on the tests, but some things with cardiovascular and upper/lower airway specific questions I've had to look up (they are open book exams).

Thing is I am about halfway through and feel like I'm not really retaining the information and am worried about when I hit clinicals.

Any advice to better retain all the terminology and illnesses, indications/contraindications, medicines, etc?

I know I'm not supposed to know everything as a basic, but just don't want to be that useless EMT. I want to be good at this and plan to pursue Paramedic eventually, hopefully.

HardKnocks

Forum Lieutenant
First off, Thank you for your Service.

Here's a few ideas;

Does you area have any sctive Affinity Groups? These are groups sponsored by Public Safety Organizations to cultivate and develop candidates interested in joining Public Service. They usually have EMS Study Groups.

Is there a Community College EMT Program nearby you could reach out to?

Everyone has their own preference for learning.

Try not to get discouraged and keep up the good work.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
Thing is I am about halfway through and feel like I'm not really retaining the information and am worried about when I hit clinicals.

Any advice to better retain all the terminology and illnesses, indications/contraindications, medicines, etc?

I know I'm not supposed to know everything as a basic, but just don't want to be that useless EMT. I want to be good at this and plan to pursue Paramedic eventually, hopefully.