EMT without medical direction

OP
OP
F

FFmed

Forum Ride Along
You got it! Just like if I give you 800mg of ibuprofen it is a recordable, but if I give you 400mg and tell you to take 1 pill every 4 hours, it is a non-recordable. :)

And the "other duties as assigned" allows me to have you sit at a desk and stack papers or twiddle pens instead of getting a "lost time" on record. :)

If I sutured someone, recordable. If I used butterfly strips, non recordable. If I used dermabond, recordable. If I instruct patient how to use dermabond on their own, non-recordable. All the rules exist for one reason or another, yet every single one of them has a complete workaround.
Geez..did you go straight from EMS into this job? How long did it take to really settle in and become comfortable? Did you ever have to provide more than first aid?

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
I was a govt contractor for many years, prior to my own medical business. I deployed as a medic, then took all the OSHA classes through the employer, then transitioned into a newly created "Safety Medic" role which meant they now rolled up two high paying jobs into one and gave me a fractional increase in wages that while ok at the time, in hindsight was an insult. Especially once deployed to remote FOBs and being the only medic/safety guy on site, and being expected to control recordables with the care I give or do not give....and also to turn a blind eye to many of the very unsafe operations taking place under the Camp Manager's direction who is responding to the US Gov daily demands and pressures.

'Twas a huge conflict of interest all the time...so I stuck to working out and being a hermit in my clinic/living container. Required inspections were announced way in advance at the morning meeting for all to plan for. See me walking, you best be doing the right thing. :)

BillEMTP

Forum Probie