Critical Care Certification?...

wevenstall

Forum Ride Along
I am currently a student at a techinical college for the Paramedic Technician Assosiates program. I really have my sights set on being a part of a medflight as a critical care paramedic. Can anyone give me some more information on how to achieve this goal? How much more schooling must I take after this, and where should I take said schooling. I live in wisconsin and am told there is no program for critical care IN THE WHOLE STATE. I know there is a program at the University of Baltimore, but thats all i know of. If you have some answers, please let me know!

Thanks a lot,

weven

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Critical Care Paramedic is an additional educational program that varies between states and even services. Even at this time, I am evaluating programs for my state to choose or to look at.

UMBC is a 120 hour course that is nationally recognized to get you started and Ohio has a Intensive Care Paramedic that is about 190hrs + with clinicals. As you can see each varies, and some only require you to have FP-C (Flight Paramedic certification). In which is the only true cert for critical care, but not a true course, even though it is doubtful one would pass without some form of critical care education.

One thing that is similar is that all critical care programs usually require one to have at least two years experience as a Paramedic before attending. There really is a reason for such as well as most flight services require this or usually more.

Obtain your Paramedic and get some experience, by then you will see more CCP programs and can attend one after the experience. Keep checking around after you obtain your Paramedic.

Good luck,

R/r 911

VentMedic

Forum Chief
It is good that you are getting the Associate degree which should hopefully include all the A&P, Microbiology, higher maths and chemistry. A good college level Pathophysiology class is also highly recommended.