BLS to ALS

JJR512

Forum Deputy Chief
Suppose I want to become a paramedic. I'm in EMT-B training now. Should I go into ALS training as soon as possible after getting out of BLS training, or should I wait a while, spend some time working as an EMT-B first?

On the one hand, I get all the training out of the way as quickly as possible, and as the ALS training builds on the BLS training, the BLS training will be fresh in mind. On the other hand, if I work as an EMT-B first for a while, I gain experience and make sure it's what I really want to do.

coloradoemt

Forum Asst. Chief
Unless you are extremely intelligent and have a massive ammount of common sense to go with it, dont be a Zero to Hero...

SafetyPro2

Forum Safety Officer
In California, you have to have a minimum of 6 months experience as an EMT before you can even apply to Paramedic school per state law. Many programs, however, require a full year, and if there's a waiting list give precedence to those with the longest experience.

natrab

Forum Crew Member
Are you sure of that SafetyPro? I don't think that it's a mandated requirement, as I know a few paramedics who made it there without ever working as an EMT. It's highly recommended though.

If you go straight to medic school you will start out as a clueless medic. You can learn how calls are run as an EMT and generally get a good knowlege base. Try to work in a 911 system with another paramedic if you can. That's what I did and I feel like I have a huge advantage in my medic class (since a lot of my class is made up of people who've never worked in the field).

OP
OP
JJR512

JJR512

Forum Deputy Chief
coloradoemt said:
Unless you are extremely intelligent and have a massive ammount of common sense to go with it, dont be a Zero to Hero...
I actually am pretty intelligent, and I mean that in the most non-bragging, factual way possible. However, my sense is more uncommon than common. :D
SafetyPro said: