AMR questions

Breakfast Fox

Forum Ride Along
Heya all, just had a couple quick questions.

I've been trying for a while (several months) to enter the local EMS system. It's so competitive around here that the only way to get into the ambulance service is to join the volunteer reserve program first, and then transfer (I tried joining the reserves and was not accepted, and was told to try again at the beginning of next year). I've been checking alternatives, and one that came up was AMR.

In my browsing of this forum, I've seen quite a few "alternative names" for AMR. My question is, is AMR as bad as everyone seems to think? At this point I just want to use my certification and gain experience, I'm not picky about how. Can anyone tell me about AMR's reputation, and your thoughts/experiences with it? I'm an EMT-B with basic EKG interpretation and IV therapy training - not exactly additional certifications, but they're good to know, and I hope they'll help me land a job.

Thanks for any responses!

Last edited by a moderator:

jeepmedic

Forum Captain
I have never worked for AMR. But I have heard both good and bad about them from diffrent Forums. I will say this no matter where you go and who you work for you will find people that speak both good and bad about a Company. My advice is to apply, try to get a job and then decide for yourself. If you like it or not. You will find people that both Love and Hate it.

Make your own mind up and go into it with an open mind.

Airwaygoddess

Forum Deputy Chief
I agree with JeepMedic, put your best foot forward and give them a try, you will learn something along the way. Good luck! :)

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief