accelerated paramedic question

joey1078

Forum Ride Along
i am a emt-b live in the ohio are and am look for an accellerated paramedic program in the ohio/pa. many thanks
joevoros@gmail.com

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Yeah, they have hit every EMS forum with the same question. I doubt they will like the answers they will receive, since most medics have little respect for "shake & bake" courses....

R/r 911

Stevo

Forum Asst. Chief
but it's ok for the emt-i cric to create mini-medics , and for each state to adopt what it likes to totally alienate us from each other?

seems the dot's big on shake & bake ems recipees Ryder

~S~

Fedmedic

Forum Lieutenant
It's kind of like the Virginia system. We used to have EMT-Cardiac Technician and EMT-Shock Trauma. Now we have EMT-Intermediate and EMT-Enhanced.

The Intermediate and Cardiac Technician protocols are exactly like the Paramedic protocols with the exception of doing RSI. The Enhanced and Shock Trauma is like the traditional intermediates we think of. You can get your Intermediate or Cardiac with less than half the hours it takes to get your paramedic.

I'm convinced the state does it this way to provide more ALS coverage which saves the state money because it allows you have a lot more volunteer ALS. If we didn't have so many volunteers then the state would have to foot the bill.

OP
OP
joey1078

joey1078

Forum Ride Along
Regarding Multiple Posts

It was not my intention to display multiple posts. I was experiencing some problems with my browser and could not locate my fist posts until I received an email response notification. Apologizes I tried to remove the earlier ones without success.
Thanks for the input.
Joe

Last edited by a moderator:

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
It's kind of like the Virginia system. We used to have EMT-Cardiac Technician and EMT-Shock Trauma. Now we have EMT-Intermediate and EMT-Enhanced.