Wilderness EMS opportunities, where are they?

Mmedic

Forum Ride Along
Hi EMS providers,

I was looking for job opportunities in the wilderness (i.e. expeditions, camping, etc.), however most of them seem to be just volunteer work. Not to downplay volunteering but I do have bills to pay and all... So is there anyone that has experience with wilderness EMS jobs, and if so, could you describe the job in all its glory and sewage?

I'm a newbie with this forum so apologies if I've broken any rules.

PotatoMedic

Has no idea what I'm doing.
The best you probably will be able to get is a medic job working as a park ranger. But those are rare. Second best would be to work for an agency that covers a larger area of wilderness in which you respond and go hiking to fetch them.

Summit

Critical Crazy
There are virtually no wilderness medicine jobs where that is your primary role, even as a volunteer.

FireWA1 covered it.

NysEms2117

ex-Parole officer/EMT
Maybe an Alaska state trooper? But their main role is Law Enforcement. I'd imagine they would have to do some EMS, just due to the response times, but this is a guess, and not factual.

EpiEMS

Forum Deputy Chief
I believe that some wilderness fire organizations have dedicated medical providers...so that could serve, probably seasonally, as a role.

Summit

Critical Crazy
I guess you could count ski patrol if you are counting seasonal jobs... but you do have to ski well. Couple people do the ski patrol winter, wildland fire summer thing.

Operations Guy

Supreme Overlord